Q&A with Loz Goddard

Lets step back a few months and have a listen to an outstanding EP on DeepWit from our next Q&A Producer, Loz Goddard.

Background Info

Manchester’s Loz Goddard got off to an early start with music, learning to play the drums at the age of nine and the guitar shortly thereafter. Such an early lesson in the essentials of drum patterns and rhythm elements has led to a solid foundation in what Loz considers to be one of the most crucial components in his own production. So far Loz has released on Nathan G’s Luvbug Recordings, Kolour, Sequential Records, Editorial, 5 and Dime Recordings and DeepWit Recordings amongst others. This has gained him support from artists such as Shur-I-Kan, Golf Clap, Jay West, GIOM, Norm Talley, Graeme Park, Leigh D Oliver, Large Music, Evren Ulusoy, Sezer Uysal, Nadja Lind, and Robert Owens.

Q&A

 

Q.Name and Favorite Color?

Loz Goddard and my favourite colour would have to be Purple. That question always requires more thought than it should. (Note from Editor – love the way Brits spell things with so many extra letters!) 

Q.Why do you bother making music?

It’s been a passion of mine for a while now, and every time I produce these days, I can feel myself developing as an artist.. I guess part of it is being interested in seeing where I end up style-wise but also love the creative side. You can’t beat the feeling of jamming a really nice idea that makes you wanna move!

Q. Favorite Genre of music outside of what you produce?

Would have to be the older Warp Records stuff, so IDM, Experimental stuff.. Squarepusher, Aphex Twin, Boards of Canada. That sort of thing.

Q.What time are you in bed on a typical Saturday night?

That’s an impossible question to answer really! If I’m having a quiet one at home, i’d probably be mixing/messing with something musical until 2am.. If I’m out, who knows.. It’s probably better to ask ‘What time are you in bed Sunday morning?’

Q. How long have you been DJing?

I used to use Ableton for live DJing and did do for maybe a year and a half before I got my decks in February. So I’ve been using CDJ’s/Vinyl for about 9 months now.

Q. Do you have any other current releases out at the moment or about to come out? 

 My debut ‘Not Another Disco‘ EP for Nathan G’s Luvbug Recordings was officially out on 5th Nov which I’m really happy with. Other than that I had out a remix of a track by Etimkin that dropped on 14th October.

Q. What are you favorite labels and or producers? 

My list of favourite producers is very long and ever-changing but at the moment, hands down, it has to be Max Graef. Favourite labels would have to be Sleazy Beats Black Ops, Melbourne Deepcast and Delusions of Grandeur.

Q. Favorite country to eat cake in?

You might be surprised but I’m not a big fan of cake (or desserts in general)! If you asked me what my favourite dessert was I’d probably have to go with a Cheeseburger.

Q. What program do you use to Produce?

Ableton! With some plugins and some hardware synths.

Q. Do you better like cats or dogs or?

Definitely Dogs!

Q. What is the question you wished people would ask you?

‘Where can I BUY your music?’ I get a lot of ‘Can I get the promo for your release?’ but very rarely get asked where it can be bought. I’m fairly sure I’m not alone on that one! (Note from Editor – Love it and so true!)

You can catch up with Loz on Facebook, Twitter, Soundcloud, RA and you can Purchase his music at Beatport.

Loz’s First release with us was on our Autumn Sampler back in November of 2012. Have a listen.

Loz Goddard pic1

About sierramay
Sierra Maydell A&R/PR/Label Manager Skype: deewitrecordings http://www.deepwitrecordings.com WP: https://deepwitrecordings.wordpress.com/ DeepWit@me.com

Tell us what You Think :)

