Q&A with DJ Deeka

Alvaro and I are constantly meeting awesome people via the label. One of these very talented people we have been lucky enough to come across in our circle of House lovers is DJ Deeka. Say what you will about running a label, meeting great people is definitely one of the better perks. After having just released a killer remix on UM we thought hey, this guy gave me some great advice about heartburn and seems to know his way around a beat, lets get him on the label. With that, we ended up with a remix that, at this time, is sitting at #26 in the House section of Traxsource, and for good reason. Have a listen to the track and a little read about this very artistic gent.


Q. Name and Favorite Color?
A. Massimiliano Alessandrini aka Dj DeekaRed. (hihihihi)

Q. How long have you been making music?
A. I made my first tune back in 2007 and it was absolutely obscene! I kept at it but never released anything because I didn’t think I was good enough and I was stuck in the never ending process of NOT finishing my tracks. Then in April 2013, I had an incredible opportunity and I couldn’t let it pass me by. I accepted the offer to remix a track, and the fact that the offer came from one of my favorite labels made the decision easier. For that I have Richie Hartness and UM Records to thank!

Q.Why do you bother making music?
A. They say House music is a spiritual thing, and for me it’s totally true. I’ve been a DJ for a long time, and I spent a lot of time playing other people’s tunes. Those tunes, the music I grew up listening to, really shaped who I am today. Now, I hope that someone will hear my music and feel the same way – that it will help shape them the way the it shaped me. It is also a way for me to express myself creatively and you get to meet so many great people who share your passion which is really exciting. But I’m not into it just for the fun and the passion, I know what I want to achieve and where I want to be in a few years. I also know that to get there I need to get myself into a position where “music” is not just filling my soul but also paying my bills. It’s a hard and steep climb but I’ll get there eventually, meanwhile I’ll make the most out of the journey.

Q. What program do you use to Produce?
A. Ableton Live 9.

Q. Must have piece of production software or equipment?
A. A computer with enough juice to run your DAW of choice and a few plugins, a set of good Studio monitors and this book “Mixing Secrets for the Small Studio“. In fact the book should come first!!

Q. Must have piece of equipment for life?
A. I recently bought a Moog Sub Phatty and I wish I’d done it sooner. Get a Moog as soon as you can, along with the book above it will change your life.

Q. Favorite Genre of music outside of what you produce?
A. NZ Roots and Reggae – Fat Freddy’s Drop, The Black Seeds, Trinity Roots, Salmonella Dub. You should definitely check them out! Aside from that I like to get my dose of Led Zeppelin, James Brown, Donna Summer, Isaac Hayes and the list goes on!!

Q. What time are you in bed on a typical Saturday night?
A. As soon as I can if I’m not playing out, on the radio or shaking my ass on a dancefloor. I love having a good time but I also like to take care of myself, especially if I want a productive session in the studio the morning after.

Q. What are your favorite labels and or producers?
A. Mr V. and Stimming at the moment. Too many labels worth mentioning, I’ll need a couple of pages to write them all.

Q. Favorite country to eat cake in?
A. New Zealand @ El Porteño cafe! BEST cakes ever! mwhuauha

Q. Whats your favorite animal?
A. Since you didn’t ask “whats your favorite pet” I’m going to say Tui, a NZ native bird, the sounds they make are incredible. I’ll have to sample it one day and make a tune out of it!

Q. What do you get up to outside of music?A. Geeking out pretty much! Movies, Tv Series, PS3 – soon PS4 <insert evil laugh here> -, surfing the net, searching for new music to listen to, lots of red wine and the coffee, let’s not forget the coffee!!

Q. What is the question you wished people would ask you?
A. How did you manage to grow such an incredible, lustrous and handsome beard?

1395421_10153438842250506_683345436_n

About sierramay
Sierra Maydell A&R/PR/Label Manager Skype: deewitrecordings http://www.deepwitrecordings.com WP: https://deepwitrecordings.wordpress.com/ DeepWit@me.com

Tell us what You Think :)

