Q&A with Sumsuch

Often in life, there are people that before you even meet, you know you are going to get along with. Rarely are these people British but in this particular instance it was indeed a gentleman from Brighton. Will Sumsuch is just one of those warm, friendly and surprisingly intelligent guys you happen to stumble upon in the music scene and think, music is exactly what he was meant for. An outstanding DJ, producer and now proving himself to be a rather adapt label owner, we are happy to count him as both a friend and a coworker on this side of the Deep House and House scene. And of course honoured to have worked with him over the years here at DeepWit. With no further ado, here is what Will has to say about himself and his label Colour and Pitch.

The latest release from both himself and his label which is Out Now.

Q. Name and Favourite flavour of ice-cream?
A. My name is Will Sumsuch & I’m a classic vanilla guy (with a banana chopped in of course).

Q. How long have you been making music?
A. Playing drums and guitar since the age of ten, producing for 15 years now.

Q. What program do you use to Produce?
A. I’m still using Logic 8 (every new version they release looks more and more like GarageBand Pro). Ableton is fun to mess about with, but I’m pretty set in my ways.

Q. How often do you end up telling your computer off while working?
A. We’ve had the occasional fight over the years, I’m not gonna lie. But she’s an old lady now, so I treat her with respect.

Q. How long have you been running your label and what made you decide to start it up?
A. My label Colour and Pitch launched last summer. It’s not the first label I’ve been involved with, but this one is all mine, so it feels special. I’m excited to be working with Pete Maher , one of the finest mastering engineers on the planet, who works with acts such as U2 & Nine Inch Nails. The logo and branding was designed by a childhood friend and former bandmate Jon Clements. The motivation behind setting it up comes from my experience of releasing my own music on other labels over the last few years. The overall level of professionalism in the dance music industry today is at an all-time low. Apart from a couple of exceptions (DeepWit being one), almost every label I’ve worked with in the last few years has: f*cked up the mastering, produced crappy artwork, failed to promote the record any better than I could do it myself and/or declined to send me any accounting or royalties. As an artist, this begs the question, why am I handing my music over to these idiots? Ultimately, I’d rather put together a quality product myself, and make sure everyone involved is happy and gets paid correctly. The costs of running a label correctly and ethically are high, so I’ll be lucky if I even come close to breaking even, but that’s not the point… We do this for the love, and if you love something, you’ll spend your last penny to treat it right…

colour_and_pitch_logo_tshirt

 

Q. Is it more rewarding to run Colour and Pitch or produce music?
A. I’ll tell you if we ever get a hit on C&P! I’d say producing music is an incredible, natural high. Seeing people dancing to a track you created, or hearing someone tell you your music moved them is a feeling like no other. However, as a label owner, that moment when you listen to a track and say to yourself “I HAVE to sign this”, well, that’s kind of a rush too.

Q. What are your favourite labels and or producers?
A. DeepWit, Stil Vor Talent, Freerange, Urban TorqueAndré Lodemann, Disclosure Project, HVOB, Vincenzo, Finest Wear, Stimming, Jimpster.

Q. Favourite Social Media site for spreading the word about music?
A. ‘Favourite’ is a difficult word for me, as I think Social Media has become an unhealthy addiction for many people. Looking at a news feed on Facebook or Twitter almost feels like eavesdropping a confessional. These site go to greater and greater lengths to persuade us to pointlessly share every aspect of our lives. A lot of record labels and artists seem to think that activity on social media can make up for a crappy product. Maybe it can, who knows. Everyone finally has their 15 minutes of fame, but nobody’s listening… In answer to your question, Facebook is king for now, but I can see change coming very soon.

Q. Favorite genre of music outside of what you produce?
A. I’m an old school hip hop head. With my first label, Latenite Lounging, I had the privilege to handle music from heroes such as Doc Luv & Kev-ski, Biz Markie, Doug E Fresh & Grand Agent. The unbridled joy, social commentary and creative freedom of hip hop (up until the year 2002 at least) makes it, in my opinion, the most important music genre of my generation. I’m very lucky to have lived through its heyday.

Q. Must have piece of production software or equipment?
A. My Bialetti coffee maker. It’s not the most high tech in the world, but often in life I find the old ways are best. (Editors Note: We have one similar we use for our fresh ground coffee, great minds think alike.)

Q. What do you get up to outside of music?
A. Cooking / eating. An artist I respect massively once told me: ‘never trust a musician who can’t cook’, and I find this to be true. Passion for music, art and food all come from the same place I believe.

Q. What’s your favourite animal?
A. I’m slightly obsessed with wolves. I used to think I was a werewolf, but I’m alright noooooOOOOOW (sorry).

Q. What is the question you wished people would ask you?
A. “Could I please donate a few grand to help support your wonderful record label?”
(Editors Note: Yes Will, why don’t you send us a few thousand British Pounds so we can print that vinyl we’ve been dreaming about?)

Thanks for your time and collaboration over the years Will and of those reading this make sure to catch up with him on Facebook and Soundcloud.

Werewolf in it's Element

About sierramay
Sierra Maydell A&R/PR/Label Manager Skype: deewitrecordings http://www.deepwitrecordings.com WP: https://deepwitrecordings.wordpress.com/ DeepWit@me.com

Tell us what You Think :)

